Aldersgate United Methodist Church - Molino, Florida
Wednesday, October 05, 2022
Imagine a Church That's the Hope of the World
Search this site.View the site map.
Visit us on Facebook.

Christian Calendar Year

The liturgical year guides the preparation of the lectionary, that list of scripture readings and prayers from the Bible, which congregations read during the course of the year and during their gatherings at church every Sunday.  The main liturgical seasons are Advent, Christmas, time after Epiphany, Lent, Easter and time after Pentecost or time after the feast of the Holy Trinity. Each season in the liturgical year has its own color associated with it, which governs the use of vestments and paraments. 


Common time, or ordinary time,  is represented by the color green, symbolic of the growth of the church and our growth as Christian disciples.  Common time occurs at several times during the year. Following Epiphany Sunday, we have a short period of common time. The color during this time remains green, and we refer to the Sunday’s during this time as a number after Epiphany, for example “the fourth Sunday after Epiphany”. The color only changes during common time on Communion Sunday, which is the first Sunday of each month. The color then changes to white for that Sunday.


Purple is for Advent and Lent, because it is both a penitential color and also the color of royalty, reminding us that Christ is our king. White is the color for Christmas, Easter, and special feasts like All Saint’s Day, Epiphany and the Baptism of the Lord; it is the color of light and purity.  Red is associated with the Day of Pentecost, symbolizing the fire of the Holy Spirit.


White paraments are used on the following special days or occasions:
Communion Sundays
Christmas Eve and Day
Baptism of our Lord
Trinity Sunday
All Saints Day
Christ the King Sunday